Watford Harriers Academy

Endurance

Contact: Ross Connor

Email: ross-connor@live.co.uk


Started April 2018

Find out more

Track & Field

Contact: Nick Jones

Email: ncvj@clara.net 


Coming September 2018

Find out more

Endurance Academy

About

Contact: Ross Connor

Email: ross-connor@live.co.uk


The Endurance Academy was set up in April 2018, with the view to bringing the best distance runners in the district between years 5-7 to Watford Harriers. The top 10 finishers in the Year 5 Watford & District Cross Country Final automatically qualify for a place and others are handpicked for their potential, either from the Junior Challenge or our Open Meets. The aim is to get these athletes ready to compete for us in the Chiltern Cross Country League which starts in October and runs from U11s upwards. We then hope once they graduate from the academy to also see them compete in middle distance events in the Eastern Young Athletes League. This is U13 and upwards. Those selected for the academy must sign on as members, membership prices can be found here.

Training Schedule

There are 3 sessions per week and they are as follows: 


Saturdays - Technique - Cassiobury Park - 10-1045am - £1.50

Tuesdays - Endurance - Woodside Stadium - 6-645pm - £1.75 (Track entry fee)

Thursdays - Speed & Core - Woodside Stadium - 6-7pm - £1.75 (Track entry fee)


There is also an existing Minors session that takes place on a Sunday:


Sunday - Woodside Stadium - 1030-1130 (Non academy session) - £2 Members £3 Non members

Races

We have selected a range of races for the Endurance Athletes to compete in, these can be found below. They are all optional, however we request if possible that they can try and make it to our Open Meets which take place on the 17th June and 9th September. This will give them the opportunity to test themselves against other club runners from across Hertfordshire and beyond:


Leavesden Junior Parkrun - Sun 13th May - Free - Register

Hercules 1.5k Fun Run - Sun 27th May - £7.50 - Enter

St. Albans 1.5m Fun Run - Sun 10th June - £9.00 - Enter

WH Minors Open Meet #2 - Sun 17th June - £2.00 - Info

Bushey Junior Race 800m - Sun 1st July - £7.00 - Enter

Leavesden Junior Parkrun - Sun 22nd July - Free - Register

Lee Valley VeloPark 1mile - Sat 28th July - Free - Enter

Leavesden Junior Parkrun - Sun 12th Aug - Free - Register

Lee Valley VeloPark 1mile - Sat 25th Aug - Free - Enter

WH Minors Open Meet #3 - Sun 9th Sep - £2.00 - Info

Moor Park Junior Fun Runs - Sun 30th Sep - £10.00 - Register

Abbots T10 3k Fun Run - Sun 7th Oct - £5.00 - Enter

Chiltern XC League #1 Oxford - Sat 13th Oct - Free - Info 

Leavesden Junior Parkrun - Sun 21st Oct - Free - Register

Chiltern XC League #2 Milton Keynes - Sat 10th Nov - Free - Info 

Leavesden Junior Parkrun - Sun 18th Nov - Free - Register

Chiltern XC League #3 Luton - Sat 1st Dec - Free - Info 

Leavesden Junior Parkrun - Sun 16th Dec - Free - Register

Chiltern XC League #4 Keysoe - Sat 12th Jan - Free - Info 

Chiltern XC League #5 Milton Keynes - Sat 9th Feb - Free - Info 

Track & Field Academy

Coming September 2018!

Contact: Nick Jones

Email: ncvj@clara.net 


The finalists from our Year 5 & 6 Watford & District School Sprint Finals will automatically qualify for a place.